The CWCL was established to honor those attorneys who have distinguished themselves in their practice in the field of workers’ compensation.  Individuals are nominated for the outstanding traits they have developed in their practice of twenty years, or longer, representing plaintiffs, defendants, serving as judges, or acting for the benefit of all in education, overseeing agencies and developing legislation.  These individuals have to convince their peers, the bar, bench and public that they possess the highest professional qualifications and ethical standards, character, integrity, professional expertise and leadership.  They have to convince the Board of Governors of the College that they have a commitment to fostering and furthering the objectives of the College and have shown significant evidence of scholarship, teaching, lecturing, and/or distinguished published writings on Workers’ Compensation or related fields of law.  In addition to these characteristics, a Fellow is expected to display the following traits in their day to day practice of workers’ compensation and related fields

  • A Fellow stands out to newer attorneys as a model of professionalism in deportment and advocacy;
  • A Fellow has earned the respect of the bench, opposing counsel and the community;
  • A Fellow displays civility in an adversarial relationship;
  • A Fellow avoids allowing ideological differences to affect civility in negotiations, litigation and other aspects of law practice;
  • A Fellow demonstrates an active interest in resolving issues;
  • A Fellow is a student of the law;
  • A Fellow has a thirst for knowledge in all areas of the law that affects their representation of their clients in Workers’ Compensation or their duties in adjudicating cases brought before them;
  • A Fellow actively participates in the state, local and/or National Bar.

It is the goal of the College to represent the diversity of the profession in all regards.  Therefore, nomination of attorneys from underrepresented states and jurisdictions, as well as the nomination of lawyers of ethnic, racial and gender diversity within the bar are encouraged.


The nomination process officially began on September 1, 2015. If you intend to make a nomination, please print out all of the forms and READ THEM CAREFULLY as they contain not only the qualifications needed for a nomination to occur but the procedure to follow and the considerations you should keep in mind when choosing new members. The current nomination forms for new nominees to the College for the upcoming year are in PDF format and include:

In addition, the following timeline is offered:

September 1, 2015

Nomination Period Opens

November 2, 2015

Deadline for receipt of all nominations to Susan Wan

November 9, 2015

List of Nominees sent to all Fellows for comments

November 23, 2015

Deadline for receipt of comments from Fellows to Susan Wan

December 9, 2015

Nominating Committee report due to the Board

December 16, 2015

Board decision on Nominees

December 17, 2015

Nominees advised of Board decision

March 10-12, 2016

2015 WC Seminar and Induction Dinner, New Orleans, LA


The Induction Dinner in 2016 will again follow the three day CLE program co-sponsored by the Labor Law Section
and the Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section of the ABA. The CLE program and the induction dinner will take
place at the Roosevelt Hotel, New Orleans, Louisiana, March 10-12, 2016. More info.

About the College  - Directory of Fellows - Board of Governors - CWCL Bylaws
Writing Contest - Other Links - Upcoming Events - Legends Award - In The News  - Contact Us

1997 Annapolis Exchange Parkway, Suite 300, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410-972-4524  Email: susan.wan@cwclawyers.org
Copyright © 2008 - 2016 The College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers 501(c)(3). All Rights Reserved.
Site design & maintenance by
BRK Web Designs